Volunteer Opportunity Details

To view more details, please log in using your APTA ID and password.

If you do not have an APTA login, you can create one for free, regardless of membership status. Some opportunities in APTA Engage are open to non-members, while others require active membership. 

< return to list

APTA National - Awards Committee Member - Awards Subcommittee on Publications 2023

Signup Deadline: 08-19-2022
Starts: 01-01-2023
Ends: 12-31-2024
Location: Online Opportunity


APTA is looking for two members to serve a two-year term on the Awards Subcommittee on Publications.

 The Board’s determined charge for each Awards Committee Subcommittee is:

  • Review award nominations received for each award that falls under the subcommittee's purview against the applicable criteria established by the Board.
  • Recommend potential recipients to the Board for final approval.
  • When requested by the Board, review and make recommendations on proposals for new awards applicable to the subcommittee's award category and provide feedback on the utility of the criteria and measurement tools for existing awards within the subcommittee's purview.
  • Submit a report to the Board on an annual basis.

This Publications subcommittee will review nominations received for the following awards:

Chattanooga Research Award
The Chattanooga Research Award recognizes an author or team whose published work in the association’s Physical Therapy (PTJ) journal presents innovative study or a theoretical model and discussion of its impact on future clinical practice or physical therapy research. 

Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award
The Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award recognizes an author(s) in Physical Therapy (PTJ), whose research and discussion has made a measurable contribution to the knowledge base of physical therapy.

Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature
The Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature honors a physical therapist who has been actively engaged in writing and publishing professional literature pertaining to the physical therapy profession for at least 10 years. A qualifying nominee must have been published in at least two separate health care professional journals or has contributed to a minimum of two books, monographs, and/or proceedings from scientific meetings.

Jack Walker Award
The Jack Walker Award honors an author or team whose published study in Physical Therapy (PTJ) presents novel and innovative research related to patient care and advance clinical science, as it pertains to the physical therapy profession.

Jules M. Rothstein Golden Pen Award for Scientific Writing
The Jules M. Rothstein Golden Pen Award for Scientific Writing recognizes published authors in Physical Therapy (PTJ) whose writing excellence is demonstrated in a unique contribution or a series of profound articles that have broadened perspectives within a content area. Qualifying authors do not need to be physical therapists, and must demonstrate committed leadership in encouraging collaboration and contributions to improve PTJ.


  • Must have expertise in one of the areas of practice, education, and research, with an overall expertise in written communications
  • Must be an APTA member in good standing 



This subcommittee meets approximately two times per year virtually. 

More information on this committee may be found on the APTA website

All APTA appointed groups will conduct their work with APTA's Commitment to Increasing Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in mind and in the context of (1) APTA's Mission, Vision, Strategic Plan and House of Delegates and Board of Directors adopted positions and policies; and (2) the potential for their work to have implications related to physical therapist assistants, women, diversity, and risk management.


Content development/review

Volunteers Needed:

2 (2 open slots)

Experience Required:

2 to 3 years volunteer experience


Dena Kilgore